POCA Forums

Username Remember Me?
Password   forgot password?

patient’s winter boots
Posted: 18 October 2011 09:30 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2007-03-28

So here I sit in Massachusetts, with the light dwindling and the temperature dropping, so my thoughts turn to winter.  I’m energized from being at CANference so I thought I’d put this out to the community.  I’m a posting virgin-this is my first time, so I don’t know if I’m doing it right.  Anyway back to the issue at foot.

Things get really messy here in Mass.in the winter and when we enter someone’s home we usually remove our boots.  So, what should we have pt’s do in the clinic?  Our big room is carpeted and we don’t want people tracking stuff in.  Is it safe to have people remove their boots before they enter and then walk to their chairs in stocking feet?  Any thoughts, or experiences appreciated.

thanks, Dalit 

Posted: 19 October 2011 01:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2007-03-29

That’s exactly what we do

our whole shop is carpeted but outside the ‘lounge’ we have boot trays and a sign posted asking folks to remove their footwear before entering.  most people are cool about it. some ‘forget’. 

one thing that crossed my mind was having a few pairs of boot warmers going that people can stuff into their shoes while they’re ‘cooking’ so that they can have warm boots when they’re done.   But the thought of how the shop would smell afterwards steered me the other way.

hope that helps… 

Posted: 07 November 2011 07:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2011-01-03

Slippers

Hello Dalit,

Winter is also on my mind here in Canada. A none-community acupuncture clinic that I worked in asked patients to remove their footwear, and provided slippers to wear in the clinic. The occasional patient will forget and keep their shoes on, but most realize already that you want to keep your floor clean.